31 Influential Tech Writers Covering the Emerging Wearable Computing Market

Wearable Computing is an emerging trend that will have an impact across consumer and enterprise markets.  I like to think of Wearable devices as another ‘thing’ in the billions of sensors that makes of the emerging Internet of Things.  Over the next decade critical consumer and business applications will make use of these wearable sensors to help us all make decisions about how we can improve our lives and business outcomes.

Next week I will post my trend report “Wearable Computing Technology” to slideshare where it will be available for download.   I’m still working on finalizing that trend report, but the current draft has about 80 slides packed with information on Wearable Computing Technology and the potential impact on enterprises.

One of the slides I will have in that deck will have the following list of Tech Writers/Journalists who are following Wearables market…and who have over 1,000 followers on Twitter.  These are all influential writers who are interested in how the Wearables market is developing.  They have all recently authored articles about the Wearable Computing trend.

I’ve included their Twitter ID below along with a recent pull of how many followers they have on Twitter.  The list is sorted by that follower count.

  1. Dan Farber, Former Editor at CBS Interactive, dbfarber,  31200
  2. Stephen Shankland, Senior writer at CNET News, stshank,  23200
  3. Anthony Ha,  TechCrunch writer, anthonyha,  20200
  4. Todd Wasserman, Mashable business editor, ToddWasserman,  16400
  5. Don Reisinger, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  donreisinger,  14500
  6. Jay Yarow,  Blogger/Writer, Business Insider,  jyarow,  11100
  7. Samantha Murphy Kelly,  Blogger/Writer, Mashable,  HeySamantha,  11000
  8. Frederic Lardinois,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  fredericl,  11000
  9. Darrell Etherington,  BloggerWriter at TechCrunch,  drizzled,  9088
  10. Zack Whittaker,  Writer, editor. @ZDNet, @CNET,  zackwhittaker,  8538
  11. Steve Kovach,  Senior tech editor at Business Insider,  stevekovach,  8486
  12. Rip Empson,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  ripemp,  7736
  13. Steve O’Hear,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  sohear,  7479
  14. Scott Stein,  CNET Senior Editor,  jetscott, 7478
  15. Pete Pachal,  Tech Editor at @Mashable,  petepachal,  7426
  16. Lance Whitney,  Blogger/Writer, CNET,  lancewhit,  7214
  17. Matt Burns,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  mjburnsy,  6175
  18. Brad Molen,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  phonewisdom,  5426
  19. Jordan Crook,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch, jordanrcrook,  5212
  20. Shara Tibken, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  sharatibken,  4653
  21. Chris Velazco,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  chrisvelazco, 4577
  22. Dara Kerr, Blogger/Writer, CNET, darakerr,  4356
  23. Brooke Crothers, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  mbrookec,  4331
  24. Jon Fingas,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  jonfingas,  4163
  25. Mark Johnson,  CEO, Zite,  philosophygeek,  3533
  26. Chris Matyszczyk,  Blogger/Writer, CNET,  ChrisMatyszczyk,  3478
  27. Jon Phillips,  Editor-in-chief of @PCWorld and @agreenbot,  JonPhillipsSF,  2195
  28. Daniel Cooper,  Blogger, Engadget,  danielwcooper,  2129
  29. Sharif Sakr,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  shotsheriff,  1857
  30. H. James Wilson,  Harvard Business Review writer and blogger,  hjameswilson,  1820
  31. Vignesh Ramachandran,  Blogger/Writer, Mashable,  VigneshR, 1012

Gartner: Top 10 Strategic Technologies for 2010

Last month, Gartner published its annual list of Top Strategic Technologies.   Gartner defines a strategic technology as one with the potential for significant impact on the enterprise in the next three years.  Factors that denote significant impact include a high potential for disruption to IT or the business, the need for a major dollar investment, or the risk of being late to adopt.

The 2010 list they recently published goes like this…

  1. Cloud Computing
  2. Advanced Analytics
  3. Client Computing
  4. IT for Green
  5. Reshaping the Data Center
  6. Social Computing
  7. Security – Activity Monitoring
  8. Flash Memory
  9. Virtualization for Availability
  10. Mobile Applications

I found a pdf file of the Gartner presentation of these trends at this fmisociety.org URL (valid as of Nov. 23).  For more information, you can read the Gartner Press Release “Gartner Identifies the Top 10 Strategic Technologies for 2010” or check out the video below.

You can see the previous lists for 2009 and 2008