31 Influential Tech Writers Covering the Emerging Wearable Computing Market

Wearable Computing is an emerging trend that will have an impact across consumer and enterprise markets.  I like to think of Wearable devices as another ‘thing’ in the billions of sensors that makes of the emerging Internet of Things.  Over the next decade critical consumer and business applications will make use of these wearable sensors to help us all make decisions about how we can improve our lives and business outcomes.

Next week I will post my trend report “Wearable Computing Technology” to slideshare where it will be available for download.   I’m still working on finalizing that trend report, but the current draft has about 80 slides packed with information on Wearable Computing Technology and the potential impact on enterprises.

One of the slides I will have in that deck will have the following list of Tech Writers/Journalists who are following Wearables market…and who have over 1,000 followers on Twitter.  These are all influential writers who are interested in how the Wearables market is developing.  They have all recently authored articles about the Wearable Computing trend.

I’ve included their Twitter ID below along with a recent pull of how many followers they have on Twitter.  The list is sorted by that follower count.

  1. Dan Farber, Former Editor at CBS Interactive, dbfarber,  31200
  2. Stephen Shankland, Senior writer at CNET News, stshank,  23200
  3. Anthony Ha,  TechCrunch writer, anthonyha,  20200
  4. Todd Wasserman, Mashable business editor, ToddWasserman,  16400
  5. Don Reisinger, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  donreisinger,  14500
  6. Jay Yarow,  Blogger/Writer, Business Insider,  jyarow,  11100
  7. Samantha Murphy Kelly,  Blogger/Writer, Mashable,  HeySamantha,  11000
  8. Frederic Lardinois,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  fredericl,  11000
  9. Darrell Etherington,  BloggerWriter at TechCrunch,  drizzled,  9088
  10. Zack Whittaker,  Writer, editor. @ZDNet, @CNET,  zackwhittaker,  8538
  11. Steve Kovach,  Senior tech editor at Business Insider,  stevekovach,  8486
  12. Rip Empson,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  ripemp,  7736
  13. Steve O’Hear,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  sohear,  7479
  14. Scott Stein,  CNET Senior Editor,  jetscott, 7478
  15. Pete Pachal,  Tech Editor at @Mashable,  petepachal,  7426
  16. Lance Whitney,  Blogger/Writer, CNET,  lancewhit,  7214
  17. Matt Burns,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  mjburnsy,  6175
  18. Brad Molen,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  phonewisdom,  5426
  19. Jordan Crook,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch, jordanrcrook,  5212
  20. Shara Tibken, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  sharatibken,  4653
  21. Chris Velazco,  Blogger/Writer, TechCrunch,  chrisvelazco, 4577
  22. Dara Kerr, Blogger/Writer, CNET, darakerr,  4356
  23. Brooke Crothers, Blogger/Writer, CNET,  mbrookec,  4331
  24. Jon Fingas,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  jonfingas,  4163
  25. Mark Johnson,  CEO, Zite,  philosophygeek,  3533
  26. Chris Matyszczyk,  Blogger/Writer, CNET,  ChrisMatyszczyk,  3478
  27. Jon Phillips,  Editor-in-chief of @PCWorld and @agreenbot,  JonPhillipsSF,  2195
  28. Daniel Cooper,  Blogger, Engadget,  danielwcooper,  2129
  29. Sharif Sakr,  Blogger/Writer, Engadget,  shotsheriff,  1857
  30. H. James Wilson,  Harvard Business Review writer and blogger,  hjameswilson,  1820
  31. Vignesh Ramachandran,  Blogger/Writer, Mashable,  VigneshR, 1012

Wearables: Conferences and Events

“By 2017, Gartner predicts that wearable devices will drive 50 percent of total app interactions.” – Brian Blau, research director at Gartner

I am in the process of researching the Wearables marketplace.  I will be publishing a Trend Report on the topic sometime soon.

I’ve developed the following list of conferences and events related to the Wearable topic.

Start Date Event Name Location
10/9/2013 Wearable Technologies Conference 2013 I Asia Taipei
12/10/2013 Wearable Tech Expo Los Angeles
1/26/2014 11th Wearable Technologies Conference 2014 / Europe Munich
3/5/2014 Wearables DevCon San Francisco
3/18/2014 Wearable Technology Conference and Expo London
3/25/2014 Wearable Tech Expo Tokyo
4/23/2014 Smart Fabrics + Wearable Technology 2014 San Francisco
4/24/2014 M2M World – Wearable Tech Conference London
7/7/2014 Wearables Technology Conference 2014 / USA San Francisco
7/23/2014 Wearable Tech Expo New York
9/22/2014 Wearable Technology UX 2014 London
9/13/2014 International Symposium on Wearable Computers Seattle

I realize there are probably a number of other ones I have missed.  If you know of others, please let me know…I would like to create a master list and include it in my Trend Report.